Institute of Arctic Biology Banner
68° 38' N, 149° 36' W

Toolik UAF WWW
Give to TFS

  TFS Directory


Management Team

Syndonia (Donie) Bret-Harte

Syndonia (Donie) Bret-Harte

Principal Investigator of NSF Cooperative Agreement, TFS Associate Science Director
122 Arctic Health Research Bldg
msbretharte@alaska.edu
907.474.5434
Mike Abels

Mike Abels

TFS Associate Director of Compliance and External Affairs
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
maabels@alaska.edu
907.474.5063
Brian Barnes

Brian Barnes

TFS Science Director, IAB Director
311A Irving 1
bmbarnes@alaska.edu
907.474.7649
Brett Biebuyck

Brett Biebuyck

TFS Associate Director of Operations and Finance
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
babiebuyck@alaska.edu
907.474.2466

Toolik Operations (uaf-toolik-manager@alaska.edu)

Faustine Bernadac

Faustine Bernadac

TFS Station Manager
Trailer T-6 (LTER)
fcbernadac@alaska.edu
907.474.7833
Chad Diesinger

Chad Diesinger

TFS Assistant Station Manager
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
cmdiesinger@alaska.edu
907.455.2511 (TFS), 907.474.7833 (FBKS)
Justin Johnson

Justin Johnson

TFS Assistant Station Manager
Toolik Field Station
jrjohnson10@alaska.edu
907-455-2511

Toolik Maintenance, Equipment Support, and Fabrication ( uaf-toolik-maintenance@alaska.edu)

The Toolik Maintenance/Science Support Team handles preventative maintenance and routine upkeep of the field station facilities, water, waste water, fuel oil, propane, heat, vehicles and transporters, shower module and equipment such as washers and dryers. 

Science Support includes advice during planning, assistance with setup of experiments, design and fabrication; RO and DI water, safety, operational training and check out of snowmobiles, bicycles, canoes, boats and motors, small gasoline generators, ice and ground augers, power and hand tools, ladders, small quantities of lumber, hardware, PVC, metal stock, plexiglass and a chest freezer for temporary storage.

Collin Fossum

Collin Fossum

TFS Maintenance, Equipment Support, & Fabrication Technician
Toolik Field Station
crfossum@alaska.edu
907.455.2561
Faye Ethridge

Faye Ethridge

TFS Maintenance, Equipment Support, & Fabrication Technician
Toolik Field Station
foethridge@alaska.edu
907.455.2523

Toolik Safety Department (uaf-toolik-safety@alaska.edu)

The TFS Safety Department works to provide resources to ensure a safe environment for all Toolik Field Station residents. The department provides limited medical services, HazMat management, emergency action plans, industrial hygiene, training, and other services that promote station safety and compliance.

Scott Filippone

Scott Filippone

TFS Safety Coordinator/EMT
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
smfilippone@alaska.edu
907.474.2457 (UAF), 907.455.2516 (TFS)

Fairbanks Logistics (uaf-toolik-logistics@alaska.edu)

The TFS Fairbanks Logistics Office assists researchers and station staff with vehicle fleet management, transportation between TFS and Fairbanks, science truck reservations, procurement, shipping and receiving, freight tracking, expediting, and compressed gas orders.  Please contact the departmental email address for inquiries in these areas. 

Joe Franich

Joe Franich

TFS Logistics Coordinator
Trailer T-3 (TFS)
jfranich@alaska.edu
907.474.5159
Tupper Becker

Tupper Becker

TFS Logistics Expediter
Trailer T-3 (TFS)
tcbecker@alaska.edu
907.474.7835

Fairbanks Business and Communications Office (uaf-toolik-business@alaska.edu)

The TFS Fairbanks Business office prepares all outbound invoices and JVs for Toolik services including userdays; assigns fuel accounts and coordinates billing for fuel; and reconciles incoming payments. The Business Office also handles meeting travel arrangements and reimbursements.

Skye Greer

Skye Greer

TFS Fiscal Professional
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
Skye.Greer@alaska.edu
907.474.7641
Victoria McDermott

Victoria McDermott

TFS Science Communications Lead
Trailer T-3 (TFS)
vmmcdermott@alaska.edu
Stevie Goetz

Stevie Goetz

TFS Fiscal and Logistics Assistant
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
scgoetz@alaska.edu
907.474.5159

Environmental Data Center (uaf-toolik-edc@alaska.edu) / Met Station (uaf-toolik-metstation@alaska.edu)

The TFS Environmental Data Center (EDC) offers support to the science community in three ways; 1) collection of long-term baseline environmental and biological data, 2) management of common-use laboratory and field equipment, and 3) limited assistance with field work. 

Amanda Young

Amanda Young

Spatial and Environmental Data Center Manager
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
ayoung55@alaska.edu
907.455.2541 (TFS), 907.474.6826 (FBKS)
Colin Edgar

Colin Edgar

TFS Meteorological Station Technician
Trailer T-6 (LTER)
cedgar3@alaska.edu
907.474.5043

Toolik GIS & Remote Sensing (uaf-toolik-gis@alaska.edu)

The Toolik GIS & Remote Sensing Office provides GIS, GPS, and remote sensing services to researchers.  These services include assistance with site selections, custom cartography, data development, spatial analyses, satellite tasking, GPS technical training and data collection.  For a full list of our services click here . Requests for services can be submitted here .

Jason Stuckey

Jason Stuckey

TFS GIS & Remote Sensing Office Manager
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
jjstuckey@alaska.edu
907.474.7642
Randy Fulweber

Randy Fulweber

TFS GIS & Remote Sensing Technician
Trailer T-1 (TFS)
rafulweber@alaska.edu
907.474.5310
Toolik Field Station © 2012-2020
Institute of Arctic Biology
P.O. Box 757005, 1038 Toklat Way
Fairbanks, AK 99775-7005
tel: 907.474.5159, fax: 907.474.5513
toolik.alaska.edu, uaf-iab-toolik@alaska.edu
All images courtesy of Institute of Arctic Biology unless otherwise noted.
Contact the Webmasters (uaf-iab-web@alaska.edu)
[toolik2]
The University of Alaska Fairbanks is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual.
Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.